Nov 16, 2015

Monday November 16 2015 ‘“ Winnipeg, MB ‘“Members and industry leaders from The Manitoba Trucking Association (MTA) came together to celebrate industry excellence at the MTA’s Annual Awards Gala on Friday November 13, 2015 at the Metropolitan Entertainment Centre in Winnipeg, MB. This annual event recognizes the efforts and contributions of those members who have distinguished themselves among their Peers.

Recipients of the Manitoba Driver of the Year, the Associated Trade Award, the Service to the Industry Award and the Distinguished Member Award were each highlighted during the event with a short video presentation.

Congratulations to the following recipients:

MTA Pioneer Club Inductee(s): Garth Pitzel, of Bison Transport and Jeff Odway of Prairie International and Dray Services. Pioneers Club recipients are members of the Trucking Industry who have been continually employed in the industry for at least 25 years and are actively and directly engaged in the formulation, direction or execution of policy in a managerial capacity of an MTA member company at the time of nomination.

Volvo Trucks Canada Manitoba Driver of the Year: Murray Slack, DeckX Transport. The MTA annually recognizes 10-15 drivers who epitomize excellence in the trucking industry. These drivers have demonstrated a commitment to the trucking industry, safety, and customer service. From this pool of drivers, the annual Volvo Trucks Canada Manitoba Driver of the Year is chosen.

Payne Transportation LP / MTA Associated Trade Award: John Oades of Beaver Truck Centre. Annually, one member is recognized for the contributions they make to the MTA. A nominee must be an Associate member in good standing of the Association, having conducted themselves in such a manner as to have gained the esteem of their fellow members and have made a positive contribution to the programs or have contributed to the development of the Association.

RBC / MTA Service to the Industry Award: Fred Arnold of Arnold Bros. Transport. Recipients of this award exemplify the conduct that garners the respect and esteem of one’s peers and brought credit to our industry through their contributions. Through these actions they are recognized by their peers in that they are nominated by the membership of the MTA.

Shaw Tracking / MTA Distinguished Member Award: Gardewine. The Distinguished Member Award is bestowed upon an MTA Member Company deemed to have made a long term commitment and noteworthy contributions to the Manitoba Trucking Association, its Associated Trades Division, Vehicle Maintenance Council or the Manitoba trucking industry through on-going dedication, active participation and support of the MTA.

‘œTonight is a celebration of industry excellence, where we take the opportunity to publicly acknowledge the many significant accomplishments of our industry leaders.” says MTA President Greg Arndt.

In addition to the awards presented at the event, the MTA also unveiled its new branding alongside the newly created Trucking Industry Safety Program. RPM, which stands for ‘œRisk. Professionally Managed.


For more information, please contact:

Laura La Palme, MTA Marketing & Business Development

204-632-6600 –