Driver Recognition Programs

Professional drivers literally keep the wheels moving on the economy, across North America and the world.

Professional drivers are the backbone of our industry.  They literally keep the wheels moving in order to keep our industry and the economy moving.  Some drivers go above and beyond, and it is important that we recognize their contributions.

MTA-Inland Industry Excellence Award


Annually we recognize 10 professional drivers who epitomize excellence in the trucking industry. These drivers have demonstrated a commitment to the industry, safety, customer service and their communities. They may have performed acts of outstanding bravery or courage, they may have driven many years accident free or they may participate in events such as the Professional Truck Driving Championship or the Convoy for Special Olympics.  Open to MTA member companies only.

CLICK HERE to nominate a driver for the 2025 MTA -Inland Group Industry Excellence Award.


Volvo Trucks Canada Driver of the Year for Manitoba

The Manitoba Driver of the Year Award is presented annually to one of the Industry Excellence recipients. These awards are given based on commitment to industry, safety, outstanding acts, and customer service. From the Industry Excellence winners, one recipient emerges to win the Manitoba Driver of the Year Award. This award is sponsored by Volvo Trucks Canada.

2023: Glen Burton, KAG Canada

2022: Jason Larocque, Kleysen Group Ltd.

2021: Roy Dillon, TransX Group of Companies

2020: Srecko “Stretch” Vasik, Kleysen Group Ltd

2019: Robert Pigeau, Big Freight Systems Inc.

2018: Myrna Chartrand, Portage Transport Inc.