Professional Truck Drivers Awarded for Skills and Accomplishments
Jun 18, 2013
On Saturday June 15, 2013 32 competitors took part in the Annual Manitoba Professional Truck Driving Championship (PTDC) located at Peterbilt Manitoba Ltd.

The PTDC is one of the only events of its kind in Manitoba and one of the few opportunities for the professional drivers of our   industry to showcase what it is that they do.  With a written test, trip inspection station, and, of course, the driving track, this competition tests drivers on numerous levels.

Winners for 2013 were announced later that evening at the Driver Awards Banquet and include:

-          Straight Truck: Jason Novak (Canadian Freightways)

-          Single-Single: Brian Hrabarchuk (Con-Way Freight)

-          Single-Tandem: Ronald Poirier (TST Overland Express)

-          Tandem-Tandem: Howard McAfee (H&T Trucking)

-          Super B Train: Ken Wiebe (EBD Enterprises)


These drivers will now represent Team Manitoba and compete against the other provincial teams at Nationals to be held this year on September 21 in Abbotsford, British Columbia.

Other event winners recognized at the banquet included:

-          J.O. Dutton Award: Ken Wiebe (EBD Enterprises)

-          First Time Entrant: Nick Alexopoulos (Canada Safeway)

-          Team Award: Canadian Freightways

-          Bjornson Memorial Brian Hrabarchuk (Con-Way Freight)

-          Grand Champion: Howard McAfee ( H&T Trucking)

A new addition to this year’s Driver Awards Banquet was the presentation of the MTA-Custom Truck Sales Inc./Kenworth Truck Company Industry Excellence Award. To be selected to receive an Industry Excellence Award, a driver must have demonstrated a commitment to the trucking industry, safety, and customer service and even may have performed acts of outstanding bravery or courage, risking their own lives to save others.

The twelve Industry Excellence recipients for 2013 are Abe Derksen (TST Overland Express), David Bowen (Arnold Bros. Transport), Grant Goss (Trappers Transport), Ibrahim Hrncic (Bison Transport), Malcolm Campbell (Arnold Bros. Transport), Mark Tricco (Bison Transport), Marshall Timmer (Arnold Bros. Transport), Michael Malley (Trappers Transport), Ranjodj Shergill (Trappers Transport), Richard Fredette (Arnold Bros. Transport), Robert Archambault (Bison Transport) and Roy Dillon (TransX Group of Companies).

From this pool of 12 drivers, the annual Volvo Trucks Canada Driver of the Year is selected.

MTA PTDC FIRST PLACE WINNERS      MTA PTDC Awards Dinner 15JUN13-1064 PS    MTA PTDC Awards Dinner 15JUN13-1151 PS    MTA PTDC Awards Dinner 15JUN13-1210 PS


2013 Industry Excellence Recipients