Manitoba’s Commercial Drivers Showcase Skills and Professionalism
Jun 23, 2014
WINNIPEG, MB ‘“ June 21, 2014 ‘“ Commercial Drivers from all over Manitoba came together for the 2014 Manitoba Professional Truck Driving Championships (PTDC) held at Peterbilt Manitoba on 1895 Brookside Boulevard.

The PTDC is one of the only events of its kind in Manitoba and one of the few opportunities for the professional drivers of our industry to showcase what it is that they do.  This competition tests drivers on numerous levels as it includes a written test, trip inspection station, and of course the driving track.

Winners for 2014 were announced later that evening at the Driver Awards Banquet held at the Viscount Gort Hotel.  Winners are as follows:

-          Straight Truck: Matthias Pieper (Bison Transport)
-          Single-Single: Brian Hrabarchuk (Canadian Freightways)
-          Single-Tandem: Ronald Poirier (TST Overland Express)
-          Tandem-Tandem: Denis Roberts (TST Overland Express)
-          Super B Train: Ken Wiebe (EBD Enterprises)

 These drivers will now represent Team Manitoba and compete against the other provincial teams at Nationals to be held during the first week of September in Esterel, PQ.

Other event winners recognized at the banquet included:

-          J.O. Dutton Award: Ken Wiebe (EBD Enterprises)
-          First Time Entrant: Jerry Brodoway (Searcy Trucking)
-          Team Award: Bison Transport
-          Bjornson Memorial: Ken Wiebe (EBD Enterprises)
-          Grand Champion: Denis Roberts (TST Overland Express)

 Included in the evening was also the presentation of the MTA-Custom Truck Sales Inc./Kenworth Truck Company Industry Excellence Award. To be selected to receive an Industry Excellence Award, a driver must have demonstrated a commitment to the trucking industry, safety, and customer service and even may have performed acts of outstanding bravery or courage, risking their own lives to save others.

The ten Industry Excellence recipients for 2013 are Owen Smulders (Arnold Bros. Transport), James McKibbon (Trappers Transport), Clayton Hamill (Bison Transport), Norman Frechette  (Arnold Bros. Transport),  Perry Moffatt (RTM Transport), Frank Kornelsen (Bison Transport), Wayne McRae (Arnold Bros. Transport), Gideon Tunmer (Trappers Transport), Ester Nemeth (Bison Transport) and  Jonathan Ternovetsky (Arnold Bros. Transport)

From this pool of drivers, the annual Volvo Trucks Canada Manitoba Driver of the Year is selected.

MTA PTDC Awards 2014-1090

Team Manitoba 2014

MTA PTDC Awards 2014-1131

Industry Excellence Recipients

For more information, please contact:

Laura La Palme, Marketing and Business Development
Manitoba Trucking Association
204-632-6600 |