Highlights from the 82nd Annual General Meeting
Mar 12, 2014

The Manitoba Trucking Association’s (MTA) 82nd Annual General Meeting was held Tuesday March 11, 2014.  This year’s president’s report focused on the MTA’s work in three specific areas: Advocacy, Leadership and Industry Promotion.

The AGM was opened with an infrastructure update from the Honourable Steve Ashton, Minister of Infrastructure and Transportation.  Guests then received a presentation on Transportation Trends for 2014 by this year’s Keynote speaker Lou Smyrlis, Publisher & Editorial Director Trucking Group of Transportation Media Properties.  Following the presentations, was the election of the new Board of Directors and Executive Committee, they are as follows:

Greg    Arndt                           Jade Transport Ltd.                         (President)

Gary    Arnold                         Arnold Bros. Transport Ltd.           (1st Vice President)

John Erik Albrechtsen             Paul’s Hauling Ltd.                        (2nd Vice President)

Ed Dillon                                  Kleysen Group LP                      (Executive member at large)

Bernie Driedger                      Portage Transport Inc.                (Executive member at large)

Doug    Witt                            Gardewine Group Inc.                    (Executive member at large)

Jas Brar                                   4Tracks Ltd.

Ron Cram                                Cheval Transport Ltd.

Bruce Danylchuk                     E.B.D. Enterprises Inc.

Jason Dubois                           Len Dubois Trucking

Darrin Fiske                             Kleysen Group LP

Borden Hadley                        Smooth Freight Ltd.

Tobi Hadley                             Smooth Freight Ltd.

Kyle Harris                              Harris Transport Ltd.

Scott    Kinley                          Gladstone Transfer

Derek Lachaine                       TransX Limited

Marc Meyer                            Meyer Bros. Trucking Ltd.

Rick Ottenbreit                       Searcy Trucking

Jeff Odway                              Prairie International Container & Dray Services Inc.

Doug Siemens                         Siemens Transportation Group Inc

Kevin Small                             Agri-Tel Transport

Dave    Tyrchniewicz              Turk Enterprises Ltd.

Tom     Van Dam                     Big Freight Systems Inc.

Pauline Wiebe-Peters            Payne Transportation LP

Steve   Zokvic                         Bison Transport Inc

The MTA thanks this year’s event sponsor BFL Canada Insurance Services Inc. and also extends their appreciation to Norm Blagden of Searcy Trucking for his past two years of dedicated service as President of the MTA.